They’ve Done Every Single ICE – Glue and Glitter

The Indie Craft Experience is very lucky to have many crafters who have participated in the show many, many times. There are only two crafters, however, who have been vendors every single time. Over the course of the past five years we have hosted ten markets, including our upcoming event this Saturday, November 21st. Becky Striepe of Glue and Glitter and Liz Stricklen of Lizerati are our two shining stars who have sold their amazing creations at every single ICE. They’ve even volunteered to stuff swag bags for most of the shows and they also happen to be good friends!


We caught up with Becky yesterday for the following interview.

ICE: Hi Becky! Tell us a little about Glue and Glitter.

Becky: I’ve been in business since around 2005 turning found and vintage materials into something cute and new. My goal is to create products that help folks waste less in their day to day, especially in the kitchen. I make Lunch Kits, Cupcaprons, which are cupcake aprons, and reusable Cup Gloves.

lunchkit
A Glue and Glitter Lunch Kit

ICE: I’ve really enjoyed seeing the evolution of the Lunch Kits. Anyone with the slightest inclination to take their lunch to work should get one of these. It’s an adorable bag with 5 matching cloth napkins, a container for your food, eating utensil and a recipe card! It’s very encouraging for everyone, but particularly people who usually buy their lunch. How have you seen Glue and Glitter change over the last 5 years?

BECKY: Things have changed so much since I first got started. Things have grown, and I’ve really found my focus over the last couple of years. I’m finally at the point where I’m quitting my day job to work on Glue and Glitter full time!

ICE: Congratulations! So tell us why you’ve participated in ICE every single time?

BECKY: ICE is my favorite Atlanta show hands down. I love the selection of crafters and that it always feels like more than just a craft show. There isn’t any other show quite like it in town, and I love to be a part of that.

ICE: Ah, thanks! What’s your favorite thing about ICE?

BECKY: I meet amazing new crafters at every show. Some of my closest friends are folks that I met at past ICEs.

blueberryCUPCAPRONms
Becky Models a Glue and Glitter Cupcapron

ICE: Any future plans you’d like to share with everyone?

BECKY: Just that I was finally able to quit my day job and give Glue and Glitter my full attention! My last day at work is November 30th!!

ICE: That’s exciting! Anything else you want to share?

BECKY: Nothing right now, but there’s exciting stuff in the works for 2010! Thanks so much for interviewing me!

ICE: Thanks for being such a loyal vendor! See you Saturday!

Interview conducted by Christy.

11/18/09

Leave a Reply

