Color: Joy, love and health

Gallery-Image-0Photo from the Pantone Color of the Year website

I’m not really sure how to put into words my feelings for color.
There’s really nothing that brings me more pleasure than perfectly placed color.
It’s also the source of some of my worst marital arguments. I joke that if fighting over paint chips is our biggest worry then I think we’re going to make it. Joking aside though, what could be more important than the color of the walls that surround us every. single. day??? I waver from wanting very specific colors in very specific places to being lover-of-all-colors-all-the-time. There are even times when I can’t get enough of the absence of color (a big white studio) or the presence of all color (a pretty black dress).

I was obsessed with yellow a few years ago after a lifelong hatred of it, and in the process amassed quite the collection of yellow earrings. Turquoise makes me smile. When given the opportunity to paint my room for the very first time at the age of 11, I chose white walls with turquoise trim. 20+ years later when my husband extended an olive branch and let me pick the color of the first room we painted in our first house, I chose turquoise walls with white trim. It was weeks before I realized I’d chosen the same palette. Red is my most constant love. Overwhelmed by the task of planning my wedding, which I had NOT been working on since I was 7 years old, selecting red as our color was the first solid decision I made in the process. Over a decade later, it is the color of our living room.

Every year, Pantone picks their color of the year, and 2014’s is Radiant Orchid. I think it’s a very pretty color even though it isn’t within my usual repertoire. What Leatrice Eiseman, executive director of the Pantone Color Institute, said about the color makes me like it even more. “Radiant Orchid encourages expanded creativity and originality…An enchanting harmony of fuchsia, purple and pink undertones, Radiant Orchid inspires confidence and emanates great joy, love and health.”

Joy, love and health for 2014! Perfect.
Enjoy Pantone’s Radiant Orchid Pinterest board here.
-Christy

Leave a Reply

