Enough is Enough

Things. So many things. I am always caught between having too many, and longing for more.

I think that sometimes we combat boredom or hopelessness with a search for novelty. New pretty things to have, to touch, to hold, to admire.

I try never to go onto Pinterest without a specific reason, lest the tide of little frivolities drag me far, far away from usefulness and especially far from contentment.

Recently, I read something that reminded me of the importance of gratitude. How we will always chase, and ache, and never be satisfied until we begin to be genuinely content with our present circumstances.

“Gratitude turns what we have into enough.”

—–Melody Beattie

earwarmers

Today I am grateful for three useful and beautiful sets of knit ear warmers. Each was a gift from a different kind friend who had heard me mention longing for a pair. Each was a surprise that arrived after Christmas, and each has kept my ears snuggly warm and my bad hair days looking fabulous.

And as for all the items I am not actively grateful for—those I need to chuck before I move into my closet-sized apartment in May!

Throughout my purge of possessions I have marched forward through my sentimental fog with this William Morris quote, “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.”

So with these reminders of being grateful for what I have (to prevent new stockpiling), and a hearty calling to cast aside objects that aren’t personally meaningful or helpful to me, I am able to move towards the future feeling a little lighter, and a great deal more joyful.

xoxoxo

Rachel Eleanor

Listening to: Pennies from Heaven–Louis Prima

Leave a Reply

